Page 1 of 5 pages
(70 pictures)
Picture relating to Stanthorpe - titled 'Stanthorpe Commercial Hotel, ca. 1897'
Picture relating to Miles - titled 'Miles Railway Station, Queensland, 1897'
Picture relating to Woombye - titled 'Workers standing in front of Bartholomew's Sawmill, Woombye, Queensland, ca. 1897'
Picture relating to Toowong - titled 'St. Thomas' Church of England in the Brisbane suburb of Toowong, 1897'
Picture relating to Bingera - titled 'South Sea Islander women planting sugar cane by hand at Bingera, Queensland, ca. 1897'
Picture relating to Cooktown - titled 'View of Cooktown, Queensland, 1897'
Picture relating to Ardoch - titled 'Ardoch Station, Queensland, 1897'
Picture relating to Morningside - titled 'Workers pose outside the Keralgere Tannery at Morningside, Brisbane, ca. 1897'
Picture relating to Gordonvale - titled 'Opening of the Cairns-Mulgrave tramway in May 1897 at the Mulgrave sugar mill, Gordonvale'
Picture relating to Toowoomba - titled 'View of Ruthven Street, Toowoomba, ca. 1897'
Picture relating to Yandina - titled 'Bush track from Yandina to the settlements at Maroochy, ca.1897'
Picture relating to Brisbane - titled 'View of the Victoria Bridge, Brisbane, in 1897'
Picture relating to Brisbane - titled 'View of the Victoria Bridge, Brisbane, in 1897'
Picture relating to Beenleigh - titled 'Beenleigh State School student portrait, ca. 1897'
Picture relating to Thursday Island - titled 'John Douglas' house, Thursday Island, 1897'
Picture relating to Gin Gin - titled 'Students and teachers of Gin Gin State School, ca. 1897'

Browse by page:

- select a page

Narrow the showcase:

Showcase currently narrowed to the year 1897

- click on a year

- click on a type of place

Stanthorpe Commercial Hotel, ca. 1897

contributed by QldPics, taken in 1897
(contact QldPics about this picture)

Kelly's Mining Exchange was the first hotel in Stanthorpe, and was licensed to Mr Kelly on 1 April, 1872. Mrs Kelly took over the licence in 1873 on the death of her husband . It was later known as the Commercial Hotel, licensed to Patrick Teylin in 1874. The architecture of the hotel is typical of early Queensland hotels with a bungalow style roof and diagonal wooden verandah railings. Three women are dressed in large white aprons standing in front of the hotel on the unsealed road. A sign on the roof reads 'Commercial and Family Hotel , P. Tevlin.'

This picture is part of the following Bonzle photo collections:

Do you have historical photos of Australia?   Why not upload them and add to Bonzle's Photo History of Australia project.

Bonzle's Photo History of Australia project is all about organising photos of Australian places by location and time.  When you upload a picture for a place and enter a date for that picture then it automatically becomes part of the Photo History of Australia project.  We're trying to create the best, most organised, user contributed historical photo archive of Australia on the internet.  So don't let those historical photos go to waste, upload them and share them with the rest of Australia and the World.